Council Tax Baliffs

Income Tax, Council Tax, National Insurance and VAT issues.

Council Tax Baliffs

Postby pinoy » Fri Jan 29, 2010 2:26 am

Unsure which section to post this so I have put it here and in the help wanted forum:

I am completely new to this and am looking for some advice regarding my council tax.

I have read up various info on statute and common law etc. Whilst I understand the concepts, I am still unsure about a lot of things.

The situation is:

Moved into a rented property in May 2009 with my partner.

I am unemployed and have been since I moved in. My partner is a full time student, but gets paid for doing her course.

I am not eligible for job seekers allowance, council tax benefit or any other benefit, purely because my partner gets a small income of around 600 per month. Even though our rent on it's own is more than that. But it's all done on a computer system and according to the system, I'm not eligible for anything.

Anyway, since May, because my partner is a student, I get classed as a single occupant for the purposes of council tax and hence get a discount.

But they still expect me to pay it despite the fact I have 0 income, my partner is a student and our household income doesn't cover the rent nevermind anything else.

Obviously I haven't paid any council tax since May purely because I haven't been able to afford it.

I received monthly statements from the council to begin with, then after a couple of months when I hadn't paid, they sent me a statement for an entire year of council tax, payable immediately.

In october, they sent me a court summons, the one where they have a hearing to get a judgement as to my liability to pay the council tax, which didn't require me to attend unless I wanted to dispute my liability. Which of course I couldn't as I have been living here since May.