Hi Everyone, I Want To Tell My Story

We welcome all new members and visitors to the Forum, please introduce yourself here, point to your own website/blog or point to articles of interest that you have created.

Hi Everyone, I Want To Tell My Story

Postby Kokeshi » Mon Apr 21, 2014 6:24 am

Hi,

My name is Tim, and I've been reading a bunch of the success stories for a while now, and I wanted to join. I also am a member of a few other forums and I wanted to tell you about my story, because I'm feeling stuck and in a time of need right now.

I *cannot believe* what's happened to us as a nation. I only discovered something called the UCC only 21 days ago, and since then have been reading non-stop on everything I can get my hands on about it and everything related. I've read so much already and still have much more to go.

I was a graduate student who currently has an alleged $250,000 in Sallie Mae student loan debt, and no possible way of paying it off. I only just found out about the UCC and have been reading about it for most of the past 21 days. I feel even worse because the very first payments of my loan are due to start at the end of this month and I only just found out about all this.

I got this debt actually because my school was defrauding the US government on their loan rules, by getting more students in than they were allowed, taking their money, then manufacturing ways to get kick them out of the program, in order to maintain their accreditation. There's a link to the actual suit itself and then a news story about it:

http://www.gibsondunn.com/publications/Documents/EDMC-Complaint.pdf - the actual suit

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/08/09/education/09forprofit.html?_r=0 - news story about it